Father-Son-Spectre Relationship

Everyone has a different favorite video game.  No one has the same interests in games, and everyone is able to find different things that they may love about the same game.  For example, when I play any games by Rockstar, I am always enthralled with the story telling which leads me to rarely ever participate in side missions.  Some of my best friends however pursue side missions more than they may actually story missions. 

Me and two of my friends recently were playing something and the discussion came up.  Up until that moment I never really had a favorite, which seems to always be a common trait with active gamers.  However one of my friends brought up a game that he played with his dad.  He acknowledged that it wasn’t the greatest game.  There wasn’t a story, and it was an earlier game which meant that the graphics were probably awful.  But the fact was that he was spending time with father playing a video game was why it stuck out in his mind.  That’s when it occurred to me that my favorite game will always be Spectre.

Before I go into the game, I need to give a brief family history.  I am one of three children.  I’m the middle child and the only boy.  My older sister is two years older and my younger sister is two years younger.  Meaning that no one child was obviously more mature than the other.  Obviously my older sister matured before me and my younger sister, but the three of us were all in moral sense growing up together, learning right from wrong at the same time.  When I was young, my family didn’t have a lot.  Yes we had a house that fit the five of us somewhat comfortably, but that was mainly because of the person my dad was.  My mom was a stay at home mom for the most part that had a job on the side working for discovery toys to help my dad out financially.  Her number one job though was to raise the three of us while my dad worked.   My dad worked a 9-5 and also woke up at the crack of dawn every morning to deliver newspapers to make sure our family had a little extra money so the five of us could eat every day.  I’m not trying to say he was an absentee father, in fact my mom and dad joke to us about how crazy we would make her  that when my dad would come home from work, my dad would leave the car running so she could get out of the house.   He wouldn’t even ask where she was going most of the time.  So although he was there, times I got to spend with my dad on a father-son level was sometimes limited because usually he was so busy that the time he was home he would spend it with me and both my sisters, and not single out any of us. 

I don’t remember when we got our first computer.  I remember it was an original macintosh, but there really wasn’t too much to it.  There wasn’t much of internet (I don’t think we did have internet for while after we got it actually), we had a few games that my mom was able to get for really cheap because of her job through discovery toys which weren’t very stimulating for adults so mainly me my sisters and our friends would play them.  Mostly, the computer was used by my dad when he would use Quicken to help keep track of his finances.  The one thing the computer did have though was the game Spectre, and when there was time, this was the outlet me and my dad used to spend time with each other.

Spectre wasn’t the greatest game, I’ll admit it.  There was no story.  You picked one of 3 tanks, each with their own attributes, and you drove around the level shooting opposing tanks and collecting flags.  The last couple levels there was a tank that took more shots than normal to kill and he did more damage than the normal tanks.  My dad and I would play a round or two and who ever could beat the levels the fastest was the winner. 

So as you can see, the game was nothing special.  What was special was what I was doing when I was playing it.  I love my dad and I would never say anything bad about the way he raised me and my two sisters.  He did what he had to do to keep our family safe and healthy and my mom was the same way.  But as a boy, you always want that connection with your father.  We didn’t have a lot of money, and my parents were Cleveland Indian/Brown fans, so going to a Phillies or Eagles (oh yeah btw I’m from a suburb 20 minutes outside Philadelphia) wasn’t happening.  This was before the days of sports so I wasn’t playing catch or playing my dad 1 on 1 in basketball yet.  But my dad and I had Spectre.  The most basic tank game ever, but it gave me and my dad time to spend with each other without any interruptions from my mom and sisters.

The point of this piece is to make you think.  When someone asks you what your favorite game is, don’t rush to a conclusion.  The question begs for you to think it through.  Don’t immediately think what game was the most entertaining, what had the best graphics, the best story, or fit your mold to what a perfect game is.  Spectre was not the most entertaining game I’ve ever played.  But it was game that allowed me to be close to my dad as a child.  For that reason, it will always be the greatest game I’ve ever played.

One response to “Father-Son-Spectre Relationship”

  1. nickrajan says :

    A good point is made in this post. I think that people should definitely think about the question more when asked what their favorite game is. This goes back to Chris’s post when he brings up Pulp Fiction, and he said it was like seeing a movie for the first time- and that’s why it is his favorite movie. I personally feel that one can have many favorite games or movies, but there are always one or two that bring back very fond memories. For me it was playing this old DOS game called Commander Keen and a angry-birds style slingshot game with my Dad when you take turns on the computer. I can remember a game or two that sticks out in my head from every 2-3 years of my life after I got genesis as well. This makes me want to write about the generations of games in my life and which ones have been the best….anyway gj on the post

Leave a Reply

